Fresh Laundry

Since it finally started to become spring here in Minnesota, I’ve started to get a bit of the cleaning itch.  Let me rephrase.  I’m starting to get the makeover itch.  I never get the cleaning itch, who am I kidding.  Does anyone get the cleaning itch?  If you do, you’re weird.  Just saying.

Anyway, my latest project is the laundry room.  Now I’m not a designer, and I definitely don’t pretend to be.  But I’ve been living with this laundry room for the last 3 1/2 years since we moved into this house.  It’s spacious and all, but the hot salmon pink was just not doing it.  It was time to tone it down.  Here’s what I’m talking about:

DSC03995

DSC03996

IMG_0655

Blah, huh?  Just kind of a hodge podge room that we happened to do laundry in.  I wanted to make the room more functional, including an area where I can work on crafting, scrapbooking (not doing well on that one, I still have to finish my wedding scrapbook from 7 years ago – yikes!) and sewing (not doing well on that one either, but at least I got the sewing machine out and plugged in now).  So here are the improvements:

IMG_9373

I’ve been seeing a lot of gray lately, and I’m really into it right now.  Anything is better than hot pink salmon!

IMG_9377

My wonderful hubby made me this table, and then I whitewashed the top of it.  It was the first time I attempted white washing, and it didn’t turn out as “white” as I wanted it to, so I’m going to have to play with the technique some more.  But I love having my own little crafting nook now!

IMG_9378

IMG_9379

Just because I married an Artist doesn’t mean this girl can’t have a few of my own paintbrushes!

IMG_9380

Laundry side – including a homemade fabric rug – attach a little fabric to a cheap black mat from Menards and coat with poly – bada bing, a new custom-sized rug!

IMG_9381

Grant got a little sweaty when I told him I wanted to paint the cabinets white, and to tell you the truth, I’m still a little nervous about painting things – but I’m learning to become fast friends with paint.

IMG_9382

And I’m starting to add a few accessories:

IMG_9384

Gotta love birds.  Anyway, that’s the start to the laundry room.  I’m hoping to continue to make it a little more “homey,” then maybe I’ll actually make time to get back to my scrapbooking!

Oh and here’s a little eleven-month old cuteness to end your day with:IMG_9368

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Laundry

  1. Lu Ann says:

    Love your post, Jen. You are amazing! Love the changes and I especially LOVE your ending!

  2. Amazing! I am so jealous of your space!

  3. Pingback: City Wide Rummage! |

Leave a Reply

