City Wide Rummage!

Now this may not sound very exciting to you, but it’s pretty much a holiday in my books.  I did not grow up as a rummager (yes it is a word!), but my hubby kinda got me into it.  And then it turned into sort of an obsession.  Okay, it’s not like I wouldn’t be able to live without rummaging, but when the kids aren’t acting like two little crabby-pants, we love to venture out in the summer.  You name it – garage sale, estate sale, anything second hand.  Grant likes auctions too, but I don’t have the patience for that.  I can’t wait for two hours for the one thing I really want, and then get let down when someone outbids me.  I need the instant gratification that a garage sale offers.  I see it, I haggle the price, and then I’m off with the treasure.  End of story.  Jen’s happy.

Anyway!  This past weekend was city-wide rummage.  Now as I eluded to above, our whole lives depend on the moment-to-moment moods of our (sweet, awesome) boys, and they were rather mellow Saturday morning.  So we decided to head out on our bikes and tour the garage sales in our immediate neighborhood.  So we ended up spending $159.25, but got some sweet merchandise!  

On stop one, we got this sweet double stroller, barely used:Image

I found it online listed at $250.00, and we snagged it for $50.  Woot!

We also got a couple of sweaters for the boys for this fall for a couple of bucks and Grant got a couple of CD’s.

Then on stop two we found a smaller, foldable papasan chair for the boys.  It is tan with navy trim, and just Eli’s size.  AND, it’s in mint condition – looks like it was barely used at all – no stains, rips, or anything!  We got it for six big ones.  I looked them up for the fun of it, and I couldn’t find the exact replica, but similar ones ranged from $60-100.  Score!

Then on our last stop before lunchtime, I saw it before we even rode up to the destination:  An armoire.  An ugly armoire.  But I was smitten.  We are planning to work on upgrading our bedroom this summer and I saw a lot of potential for this little ugly duckling.  So I’ll share more later after I get to the repurposing!  Anyway, online it looks like similar pieces would sell for $400-500.  And the family wanted $150, but we jewed them down to $100 before it was over.  Yes!

And that little $0.25 left over?  This is what I got with that quarter:ImageYup, just an old fashioned candy jar.  These puppies cost about 10 bucks at Target.  I’m too frugal for that.  So here’s what I used to update this a little:ImageI love Frog tape.  I mean – LOVE.  If you want super straight lines when you paint, this is your baby!  And I’m really starting to love chalkboard paint.  It’s a lot of fun!  So I taped up the lid like so:ImageI gave it a couple of coats of the chalkboard paint, and then when it was dry wrote it up!  I’ve been wanting something to hold my “lost socks” in the newly updated laundry room, so here it is:ImageWhat do ya think?  Anyway, it was definitely a good morning – and I got my “good deal” high!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to City Wide Rummage!

  1. Sandy says:

    Cute Idea!!!!

Leave a Reply

