Coat Rack for Kids

This little project was done earlier this spring (or should I say the dead of winter) when there was still 3 feet of snow on the ground.  So after the first half of the winter having no real space for the kiddos to get their shoes/coats on, I decided it was time to do something about it.  We had to share a couple of coat hooks we have hanging on the other side of the entry with the kids, and all of their coats, plus ours and purses/scarves/dog leash/etc. just was not working.

Here is the before photo:

DSC03884

Sorry about the bad picture.  This was actually taken before we owned the house, when we were just walking through it the last time before we made the big plunge into home ownership.  So no, we don’t have a cool coat rack like that.  Prior to our most recent update, just imagine a decorative vase with some sticks in it.  It was nice, but not as cool as the coatrack, and definitely not serving a big enough purpose to earn it’s keep.  One of the biggest things I’m learning with small children is that if something isn’t serving a logical purpose, I’m not interested!

Okay, so here’s what I did with it:

IMG_9521

There it is, our first homemade bench.  I went to Lowe’s with the kids one day on my day off while Grant was at work, and rounded up some 2X3’s.  I got them home and laid them out and started marking.  Mind you, I was planning on doing this whole project all by myself.  But then I had a couple of little helpers that wanted to make sure I did it right:

IMG_1434

Actually, they could have cared less if I did it right or not.  But my hubby was the one that wanted to look over my measurements and make sure I was doing it right.  And then so kindly offered his assistance in cutting boards and screwing them together for me.  Which then turned into wrestling them until they fit right without making the whole bench wobble – which was a job, let me tell ya.  Not as big of a job as wrestling a toddler during a poopy diaper change, but  it did work up a small sweat.

And a shout out to awesome Mr. Hanson, who is quite the handy man, I must say.  He has come to second-handedly hate Pinterest.  I’ve become addicted, and start projects which he ends up doing the right way.  But I’m so glad he gets in there with me, because he does great work!

So really, in the end, all I did was the painting.  Which is the fun part.

IMG_9524 IMG_9523

After I was done painting it, I took various hand tools and some sandpaper to it to put divets, nicks, and wear into it all.  I’m a huge fan of the weathered look.  Especially with kids, because then when they make their own dents/divets/marks (and you know they will!), it blends right in!

And here she is, being all “functional.”

IMG_9526

Ahh, much better.

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coat Rack for Kids

  1. LuAnn says:

    Can’t wait to see it…and use it!

  2. Mundane Meds says:

    You’re too kind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

