Happy First Birthday, Andrew Kole!

One year ago right now, I was checked into the hospital, trying to watch the Bachelorette on TV in between contractions.  I had woken up at 2:00 a.m. that morning with contractions every 3-5 minutes apart.  Since it was 3 weeks before my due date, I thought there was no way it could be the real thing.  But they were just enough to keep me from going back to sleep.  I woke Grant up about 5:00 and told him that I might be in labor.  He thought I was joking, laughed at me, and turned over in bed to go back to sleep.  So I said, “No, Honey, seriously.  Something’s happening.  It’s probably false labor, but you might want to arrange to have a sub on standby just in case.”  His reaction:  “Are you SERIOUS??” as he’s flying out of bed and flying around the room, half asleep.  Grant was on the last week of school (which is always extra busy), and we thought he’d get through it no problem before Andrew came.  So he rushed off to school to get things arranged just in case.  I called my manager and told her I was going to take the morning off to see what this turned into.

Eli went to daycare.  I tried to go back to sleep, and was able to dose off.  When I woke up, it seemed like the contractions had worn off.  So I thought “Heck, I’m not going to sit around all day and wonder what’s going on – I might as well be at work.”  So I called my manager back and told her to keep my patients on the schedule for the afternoon and I’d come in.  No longer did I get off the phone and get out of the shower did the contractions seem to pick up a bit.  Lucky for me, I work just right down the hall from the OB department (I’m a Nurse Practitioner).  So when I got to work, I stopped by my OB’s office and told her what was going on.  We decided to see how the afternoon went and if I was still having contractions by the end of the day she would check me.

As I started seeing my patients, the contractions indeed picked up.  And they picked up hard.  Do you know how hard it is trying to take a history and do an exam on patients, pretending that you’re listening while you’re in labor? Yikes!  My poor nurse was a bit nervous.  She even had a wheelchair sitting by my office door “just in case.”  Ha!  Finally I had done a little too much leaning over the counters and “hee hee hoo-ing” during contractions, and my nurse said “That’s it!  I’m canceling your last patient, now go get checked!!”

My OB walked in and checked me, thinking this could very well be false labor.  But as soon as she checked she yelled, “Holy crap!  You’re gonna have a baby!  You’ve been working hard today!”  She suggested that I promptly get to the hospital because if my water broke this baby could come fast!  Now if this were my first baby, I probably would have ran right over to Labor and Delivery.  For some reason everything is so much more chilaxed with subsequent kids.  So what do I do?  I go back to my office and start charting!  I don’t want to have unfinished work after I have this baby!  Yeah, didn’t go over so well with my nurse.  She basically stole my computer, shut it down and kicked me out of the building.  So I called Grant and told him it was a go.

We got Eli from daycare and dropped him off at our neighbors’ house.  We got to the hospital, settled in, did the hall-walking, exercise ball-bouncing, more hall-walking, bachelorette-watching, whining, groaning etc.  Finally the nurse checked me and I was dilated to 7 cm around 9:30 p.m.  She called the on-call Doc, and he came in and broke my water around 9:45.  He didn’t even get his gloves off, and the extreme urge to push came over me like a mack truck.  He checked me again, and I had gone from a 7 to a 10 and fully effaced within a couple of minutes.  Three pushes and a few embarrassing comments later, Baby Andrew was born – full head of hair intact!

Image

And here’s where one year’s worth of craziness will get you:

Image

Andrew, you’re such a healthy, sweet little boy that’s full of life, just like your big brother.  Mommy and Daddy love you endlessly.  We pray that you would know your Lord and Savior at a very early age and want nothing more than to glorify your Heavenly Father with all of your precious life.  Love you little Squib!

We were lucky enough to have lots of family and friends come and help us celebrate.  We had a picnic theme for his birthday party, but got rained out, so we had to picnic inside.  Here’s a snippet of our fun day:

IMG_9586      IMG_9599

IMG_9591      IMG_9627

IMG_9633      IMG_9641

IMG_9644      IMG_9647

IMG_9664      IMG_9676

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy First Birthday, Andrew Kole!

  1. Lu Ann says:

    Thanks for sharing your day, a year ago. Andrew is a cutie and such a good boy. We will certainly enjoy watching both of your boys growing up. Love you guys and Happy Birthday, Andrew!!

Leave a Reply

