Father’s Day

Today was such a fun day!  I love celebrating the fathers in my life.  Fathers are ever so important in a successful family life, as they are designed to be the head of the family as Christ is the head of the church.

I just have to say that I love my dad so much.  I am so thankful that he taught me to guard my heart and also surrender my heart to my Savior at an early age.  It saved me from a lot of possible heartache down the road.   It also instilled in me the desire to seek a Godly man that would one day be that spiritual leader for my children.  God was so faithful and has blessed me with just that – a wonderful husband that I can proudly say embraces fatherhood with exceptional enthusiasm and willingness to work through the hard times with our boys, praying that it will produce God-fearing men someday.  

The father of a righteous man has great joy; he who has a wise son delights in him.         Proverbs  23:24 (NIV)

So a shout out to my hubby for being awesome!  We had a great day celebrating the man in this house (the tallest one and the only one that doesn’t wear diapers – well actually I can’t even say that anymore, because Eli is now wearing real “big boy underwears” as of this last week.  But that’s for a different post on a different day – Eli can’t steal Daddy’s thunder today.)  Here is an overview of our fun day:

We woke up to Eli and Andrew making noise simultaneously – how is it that they wake up at exactly the same time?  Eli told Daddy Happy Father’s Day, and thanked him for being his daddy (we rehearsed a ton yesterday, and he got it spot on this morning – such a smarty pants).  We meandered down and ate breakfast, then got ready for church.  It was our new pastor’s first Sunday of preaching today, so that was refreshing.  We realized we had a book sale after church.  Grant’s first surprise of the day – theological books on sale for a mere coins.  $2.50 and a sack of books later, we headed home.  We wanted to take some pictures of Daddy and the boys before we went out to eat and they turned into grunge monsters.  Realizing the camera was full, we had to download the pictures on the computer.  Meanwhile, someone decided to grow up before our very eyes:

Image

Yup, that would be Andrew standing up and taking his first steps on his own.  Walking.  Now his first steps were not just a couple of steps and then plopping on his bum.  This kid stood up on his own and just took off – at least 10 steps before reaching Daddy.  What?!  Yesterday he was crawling.  And could stand up holding onto something.  No steps.  Not even trying, no interest.  And today he’s all throwing balls and walking after them.  I have to tell you, this was a shocker and a bit hard for this momma to take.  I mean, he could have eased me into it a little.  Maybe one step, but walking across the room?!  I don’t know if I can handle my baby growing up this fast!  I might as well buy him big boy underwears too!!

So that was Daddy’s next fun surprise – good one Andrew, you outdid us all.  Both you and Eli are trying to steal Daddy’s thunder today I guess!

So then we did a mini photo shoot with Daddy and the boys.  Here’s a couple:

Image

Image

After we had had just too much cuteness for one shoot, we headed off to eat.  Grant wanted a burger, so we had to find him a burger since it was his day.  We tried out a new place in town that supposedly serves good burgers.  And when Grant said he wanted a burger, he meant it!  Look at that puppy – no, not puppy, full grown elephant of a burger:

ImageIt was called “The defibrillator.”  You can obviously see why, especially if you notice the huge cheese curds on the top.  He actually ate the whole thing – I didn’t know if I should be proud of him or go get the puke bucket…

Then we all went home and took naps.  After naps, we rode bike to get frozen yogurt.  

We decided it was way too nice of a day to not enjoy some water.  So we all got our splash on:

Image

Image

After we got all dried off and changed, we gave Daddy his presents, which included these:

Image

Yup, Andrew’s tired.  And sick of taking pictures.  

After all the fun events of the day, we needed a break, so it was time to turn on some Mickey Mouse and chill with Dad while I made supper.

Image

Then we went outside again, because it was just so nice out.  We haven’t gotten many days like this in Minnesota so far this year, so we couldn’t resist!  Poor Andrew gave up.  He had a big day, meeting huge milestone and all.  He didn’t quite make it through the walk before he passed out.

Image

What a fun day!  I wish every day was like this.  I hope all you fathers out there had a great day!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Father’s Day

  1. LuAnn says:

    Your blog is the next best thing to being there. Thanks for sharing!
    Now both boys are mobile, huh? Wow. Looks like Grant had a good day.
    Love you guys…

  2. Grant says:

    Looking through these pictures and reflecting on our day makes me want to tear up. But I’m a man, so I didn’t. 🙂 Just kidding, thanks hun for an absolutely wonderful day.

  3. Val says:

    Looks like fun! You have really great kids and it’s nice to get to see them in a way through this! Can’t believe Andrew just going for walking so quickly like that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

