Seven Years!

Grant and I have been married just over seven years.  That means that it had been over seven years since I saw my best college friend.  Mariah was from Hawaii and had moved to Brookings South Dakota to attend SDSU.  Crazy that anyone would move from Hawaii to South Dakota, I know, but hey, I never said I had normal friends!  So Mariah had become super close to both Grant and I with such a warm, fun spirit and a beautiful sister in Christ.  She was a bridesmaid in our wedding, and she left the day after our wedding to go back to Hawaii since she had just graduated.  She has been living in California for the last several years now.  Between us moving to the east coast and back, and having kids, we hadn’t been able to go visit.  

Mariah is now moving to Kentucky, and she was going to be stopping in Minnesota on the way through to visit some relatives.  So we knew we had to make a visit happen – it had just been way too long.  She was going to be at her relatives about 2 hours away from our house, so we were going to make the treck to see her and her dad.  She called last night and said, “Construction is terrible, and they are actually diverting us and it looks like we will be driving through Mankato in about 2 hours instead of two hours north!”  So immediately I suggested she and her dad  stay at our house since they’d been driving all day.  So Mariah got to spend the night with us.  She is one of those friends that you could go a century without seeing, and as soon as you see each other you pick up right where you left off.  Those are true friends!  We stayed up until midnight talking, reminiscing and laughing.  I know, midnight doesn’t sound all that late, but let me tell you, as two parents of two boys under the age of 2.5, it’s late!  But we didn’t care, it was so worth it!

Image

Oh, how cute…..but this one is much more accurate of the way our relationship is…

Image

Yup, there we go…now that I look more at that picture, I think that’s what we looked like the night we went to the midnight opening of Texas Chainsaw Massacre in the theater during college.  Thanks to Mariah, I have not watched a horror film since then – which is probably a good thing.

Even the boys warmed right up to her:

Image

Image

Well, okay, maybe Andrew didn’t warm up so fast, but he doesn’t really like anyone that didn’t birth him at this point – even the guy that cut his umbilical cord some days!

Image

We had such a great time, and even though it was a quick visit, it warmed my soul to see sweet Mariah!  Hopefully it’s not another 7 years before we see her again!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven Years!

  1. LuAnn says:

    I’m so happy you guys got to see each other. It is great to have a friend like that. I still have 2 friends that can just pick up where we left off, no matter how long it has been. And I’m no spring chicken! You two will be friends forever!

Leave a Reply

