July 4th

This post should have been done a week ago.  But yup, I’m just that far behind.  It happens with two little kiddos, especially when the hubs is under the weather!  So sorry ’bout that!

We went back to South Dakota for a week over the 4th of July to visit both set of grandparents.  My parents live on a farm, about one mile from the lake and their cabin.  Grant’s parents live about 10 miles away in a small (SMALL) town.  It was really nice to get away and enjoy the slow pace for a while.

We got to see these two lovebirds:

IMG_9982Meet my mom and dad!

And here with all their grandkids (me also in the picture because Eli was sick with strep throat and was like a leech to my leg):

IMG_0007

And then there was this weirdo who keeps claiming to be my brother.  We try to ignore him but he keeps showing up….

IMG_9962

Just kidding, Mike.  We love you.  I guess.  😛

We got to go to the cabin on the 4th, so we got a lot of water, boating and sand time!

IMG_0102

IMG_0115

IMG_0113

Look at my sweet niece just cheesing out.  Isn’t she the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?  Hopefully she’ll turn out like her mom and not so much like her dad.  Oh!  Jen-2, Mike-0.IMG_0127

IMG_0139

IMG_0169

IMG_0180

Thanks for such a great time at the lake, mom and dad!  The kiddos loved it!

We got to spend lots of time with Grant’s family too, especially grandma.  I think we ate every popsicle in her house!

IMG_0025

During the week, we managed to celebrate 4 birthdays!  My mom’s, and then Grant, his sister and his dad all have birthdays in the beginning of July.

IMG_0202We won’t disclose anyone else’s ages, but my hubby just wants everyone to know that he’s now thirty and loving it!  I guess if “loving it” means being sick for the first two weeks of his thirties, then we’re not off to a very good start!

I was able to reconnect with a couple of great friends from elementary/high school while we were home.

IMG_0185Yes, this picture was taken on a playground.  Because we can’t hang out nowadays unless our children are entertained.  That’s okay though, it brings out the kid in us!  Sweet Jill will be expecting her second baby girl in a couple of months, and I couldn’t be more excited for her.  Look at how she glows!

Overall, besides Eli’s strep throat to start off the trip, we had a great time!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 4th

  1. Lu Ann says:

    So glad you came. Sorry it was so hot here. (and upstairs) We do have some popsicles left, so come back anytime.

  2. Sarah (Serocki) Schoenfelder says:

    I miss the old jungle gym! You gals look so ‘old’! hahahaha

Leave a Reply

