A Little Love for Lightning

Cars™ is pretty popular around here. From Mater this to Lightning McQueen that – we’re talking cups, toys, a bike helmet, the actual movie….and now a kid card table. Enter piece of junk here:

IMG_0267My sweet, sweet mother-in-law knew about the obsession around here, so she asked if we would want this. She saw it at a garage sale for $4. Without seeing it, I said, “Sure, why not. For $4 it’s worth a looksee.” So when I actually saw, it, it was in rough shape. Let’s take a closer look, shall we?
IMG_0263
IMG_0264
IMG_0265
This little bad boy came complete with accents of paint, crayon, marker, rips, and a little electrical tape on poor Lightning’s chin if ya caught that one!

So one day when Eli woke up early from his nap and he and I were the only ones awake, we decided to take a little trip to Hobby Lobby. Eli picked out some new Lightning McQueen fabric, and a little clear upholstery plastic, and then we went home and got to work.

Here’s what we needed:
IMG_0270

Here’s what the bottom of the table looked like:
IMG_0268

I just unscrewed all the screws to free the top. I didn’t take any pictures of the actual process, sorry! I got too engulfed in the project and forgot! I’ll try to be better about that with my projects. Basically I took the old ripped material off, put the new material on, laid the plastic over the top and stapled it down. My staples for the staple gun were too long for the thin little cardboard, so I used regular staples. Seemed to work pretty well. It held it securely enough until I could screw the whole thing back together. And here’s the new and improved Lightning McQueen table!
IMG_0321
IMG_0317
IMG_0318Andrew seems to be enjoying it – the chairs anyway! As long as there’s something to climb on, he’s a happy camper!

So to sum it up, here’s the total cost:

Table: $4 at a garage sale
New fabric/upholstery plastic: $8

Total cost: a whoppin’ $12!
Cost of the table new: $45-$50.

Looks like a good savings to me!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Love for Lightning

  1. LuAnn says:

    It looks awesome, Jen. I couldn’t believe what you had done to fix it. I wish I had that talent…and ambition.

  2. Sandy says:

    Jen I heard the other little kid wants it back now!!! 🙂
    YOU did a great job.

  3. Val says:

    You amaze me.

Leave a Reply

