Dresser Makeover

In case you don’t remember, we’ve been redecorating our bedroom.  So I’ve been spending every free minute I have after the boys go to bed busy with DIY projects.  And today was the day that I finished our dresser.  We have a spot in our bedroom that was really overbearing with ugly wood shelving.  It was not only an eye sore but kind of nonfunctional.  So we tore it all out.

Then we bought this armoire at a garage sale.

IMG_0252

 

We put it in the space with the intention that I would refinish it or paint it.  Once we got it in the space, we really didn’t like the way it looked.  It was way too bulky.  So we sold it on our recent garage sale.  We were able to sell it for a little more than we paid for it, so score!

Then I went on searching for the perfect fit for this space.  I turned to Craigslist, and found this gem:

IMG_0437

That beauty cost me $15, and the guy delivered it for me!  Yes, the whole front is falling off, but I saw some potential.  And for fifteen bucks, why not try it?

IMG_0438 IMG_0440 IMG_0441

IMG_0442Take a look at those drawer pulls, aren’t they awesome?

The whole front was veneer, so I just started pulling and scraping and peeling until it was all off:

IMG_0445Yup, it made a mess!  But it looked so much better just by doing that!

Then I got to work with my power sander and sanded everything down.  Some of the glue from the veneer wouldn’t scrape off, so I just sanded it all down because I knew I’d just be painting it anyway.

Then I primed and painted.  And painted.  And painted.

IMG_0468

IMG_0470I picked a kind of a moss green for the drawers, and the dresser went white.  We are accenting out bedroom with greens, so I thought maybe this would fit in.  See all the gouge marks from trying to pry all the glue/veneer off?  Yikes!  This is why we don’t use veneer, folks!

I had a plan for the drawers to take them a step further, so I wasn’t too worried about the gouge marks anyway.  All I needed was a little lace and white spray paint:

IMG_0490Our bedroom is starting to take more of a masculine feel, so I’m trying to incorporate some feminine elements to equal it out.  Lace is pretty feminine, so I gave it a whirl on the drawers:

IMG_0491 IMG_0493

 

Easy!  And it turned out quite well!  After everything dried and I reattached all the pulls, the hubby helped me carry her upstairs to put her in her rightful place.  Here she is, in all her glory:

IMG_0513

I love the way she turned out!  It brings a nice soft feel to our room, and really adds a pop of character!

 

IMG_0516What do ya think?  Better than the peeling-veneer look??

Oh!  And that cute little metal tray on top?

IMG_0519That was $3 at Goodwill.  I’m tellin’ ya, Goodwill is my new favorite store!  I recently got a couple of other fun deals that I’ll share with you later, but seriously people, check it out!

So here it is – the total cost for the dresser makeover:

Dresser – $15

Paint – $6

Lace – $4

Total Cost of this project: $25!!  Boo-ya!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dresser Makeover

  1. Sandy says:

    I thought the Armoire was really neat , BUT Jen that dresser is so awesome….what a neat idea…. if you get tired of Medical work you could go into decorationg homes….. Good for you ….you are really putting a personal touch on your home… YOU will have to let the guy see his dresser. He will want it back… 🙂

  2. LuAnn says:

    Another successful endeavor. Very nice, Jen.

Leave a Reply

