Quick Thrift Find Makeover

So I’ve mentioned how I like Goodwill.  I mean, I’ve always had a heart for cheering on the underdog.  taking in the outcast.  embracing the unwanted.  eating all the leftovers.  You get the idea.  So when I discovered Goodwill, I realized I could take other people’s unwanteds and, with a little creativity (usually involving paint), I could turn junk into treasure for CHEAP!  This idea intrigues me.  It enchants me.  It makes me addicted.  And I think I might be close to needing an intervention.  But for now I’m gonna go with it!  And my wallet thanks me.

So here are a couple of things I found recently at Goodwill:

Image

This shoe rack was the same exact rack I bought a couple of months ago at Target and put in our downstairs closet.  I knew I needed one for our newly redone bedroom, but didn’t really want to shell out the cash.  Did you know that shoe racks are spendy?  I mean, unnecessarily spendy in my opinion.  Seriously, google it.  Anyway, I found this same rack that I had bought at Target for half price at Goodwill.  So I snatched that baby up!

Side note – Goodwill takes a lot of Target’s clearanced items and sells them brand new for dirt cheap.  One of the best pieces of information I’ve ever learned!!

Okay, so now onto the birdcage.  I made a new shelf for our bedroom, and I needed things to put on that shelf, costing minimal moolah.  In comes Goodwill, to the rescue.  I found this bird cage for $2.99.  It’s the ugly chintzy-looking brass, but nothing a little paint can’t fix!

Image

I already had a can of Krylon’s Brushed Metallic Spray paint in oil rubbed bronze.  This stuff is awesome!  Then I got to work with a couple of thin coats of paint, and here she is:

Image

Image

And that’s it!  Easy transformation to a much more updated, eye-pleasing piece!  And it’s a little preview of the updated bedroom – we’re still working on it, but it’s coming along and we can share it with you soon!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

