Whitewashed Industrial Tables

I have to apologize for being away for a while.  We have been in the thick of the homestudy portion of our adoption.  We had our last meeting with our case worker this past week.  She had to do “the house walkthrough.”  This is where she looks at every room of our house.  So needless to say, Grant and I have been working our booties off trying to pick up and clean faster than our boys made messes and destroyed.  I was actually kind of disappointed that she didn’t snoop around at all.  I took a lot of time organizing our medicine cabinet and color-coordinating the clothes in our closet.  Okay, only half-kidding on the color-coordinating thing.  But seriously, our house is the cleanest and most organized  it’s been in a LONG time!

Okay, on to the real reason for this post.  We finished the bedside tables for our bedroom.  So I’ll give you the lowdown ahead.  We wanted an industrial yet rustic/shabby look.  Where do I go for ideas?  Yup, you guessed it – Pinterest.  I found this beauty online, and it was just what I wanted:

industrial table

                                               Source

If you read their tutorial, this one table cost around $300, and that was the homemade, knockoff cost.  Ouchers!!  So what is a girl to do when she really wants to make these tables, but the cost is unacceptable?  Simply make it work for less dough!

The tutorial used butcherblock, which can be hefty in price, about $100 or more for a slab of it.  Instead, I went to one of my favorite places in the world:  Lowe’s clearance section!

IMG_8287

I found these bad boys, which kind of had the look of thinner butcherblock.  I didn’t really like the color of them, but I had plans for that.  And for the price, you can’t beat it!  So I snatched two of these up and had the Lowe’s guys cut them for me (for free!).

I got them home and sanded them down.  This is what I had to work with:

IMG_0502

The wood looked way too new and brown for me.  I wanted them older looking with a bit more character.  I did a lot of research on aging wood.  I decided to give vinegar and steel wool a try – who knew??!

Here’s what I started with:

IMG_0486

I put a piece of steel wool into an old glass jar, and then filled the jar with vinegar and let it sit over night.  I’ve read you can leave it for a week, or even up to months in the jar to give it more potency.  But I’m no where NEAR that patient, so one night was hard enough for me!

Here it is all together:

IMG_0488

And here it was the next day right before I was going to use it:

IMG_0504

Gross, right?  But amazing what this little mixture can do!  Now I read to just take the steel wool out and use it to paint on the vinegar mixture.  I tried that, and it left little tiny pieces of steel wool in my wood.  So for the rest of the pieces I used a paintbrush.

IMG_0506

Here is a piece of the wood as I was putting the vinegar on it – started changing right away!

And here’s a couple of hours later:

IMG_0507

Cool, huh?  I really liked how it started to take on an aged and weathered look!

Here’s another one:

IMG_0530

So after the pieces dried, I really liked how all the grains stood out, but it was a little dark for me, and still too brown-tinted.  So then I decided to white-wash.  Now white washing has become my new favorite painting technique.  Because you really can’t get it wrong, and there’s no perfect way to do it.  Basically, I got an old yogurt container, filled it with a little white paint, added a hint of old gray paint, and then watered it down.  It was maybe half water, half paint.  Like I said, not a perfect science.  This is how I do most of my cooking, by the way.  Add a little of this, maybe a little more of that…..drives Grant nuts, but I hardly every use the measuring spoons.  Anyway!  Here’s what my mixture looked like:

IMG_0537

So here was the fun part – paint on, wipe off!  It’s that easy!

IMG_0540

I waited about 3-5 minutes before wiping off the paint.

IMG_0541

And now you can see a big difference between the one that’s done and the one that isn’t.  If you can’t, I did a bad job.

IMG_0538

Then it was on to the legs.  These parts were the most spendy.  I shopped all over town, and I even shopped in Fleet Farm while I was in Iowa recently.  I must give a shout out to Fleet Farm, they did have the parts the cheapest, but Menards wasn’t far behind.  I got what I could at Fleet Farm before I ran them dry, and then got the rest at Menards.  Usually we find things cheaper at Lowe’s for our home improvement, but Menards surprised us this time!  So I went to the plumbing section, and bought galvanized metal 3/4″ x 10″ nipples, and 3/4″ flanges.  I was making two tables, so I needed 16 nipples and 32 flanges.

IMG_0542

Not all my pieces are shown here, but I just want you to notice how new they look.  Remember that I was going for an older, weathered look.  So these things were way too shiny for me.  If you go up to the link under my inspiration picture, you’ll read that they aged their pieces using all kinds of chemicals and a blow torch.  First of all, we don’t own a blow torch, and second, we don’t know how to run a blow torch.  And third, that just sounds like too much work.  So that was out.  Back to the internet I went for new ideas.  Then I read about this miracle bottle:

IMG_0549

Yup.  Toilet bowl cleaner.  Again amazed that the smelly blue stuff inside this bottle can make not only my toilets beautiful, but my tables beautiful as well!

Basically I dowsed the pieces in the toilet bowl cleaner and let them sit for a few hours.  I would recommend wearing gloves when playing a lot with these sorts of chemicals!

IMG_0545

After a few hours, wash them off well with soap and water, dry them as much as possible and then let them air-dry.  And here’s what I was left with:

IMG_0605

See how the shiny is all gone?

IMG_0606

Perfect!

Now here’s where you get the hubs involved.  And he’s usually pretty willing to help me out when it involves using his power tools!

IMG_0610

Just simply screwing the legs on went pretty fast, and we were done in no time!

IMG_0616

So here is the finished product:

IMG_0769

IMG_0620

And now here is what they are doing for us today:

IMG_0761

I’m really happy with how they turned out!  We are reaching toward the end of our bedroom work.  We have one last big project left, and it is the biggest in that room.  It involves the wall to the right of the table, and these:

IMG_1908

Stay tuned!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whitewashed Industrial Tables

  1. LuAnn says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Brittany says:

    what kind of screws did you use? are they holding it together well?

  3. Christie says:

    Thanks for showing a way cheaper way to make these tables! I love them and your way of aging the materials is brilliant! I plan on making one myself and your how-to is a great help. Thank you so much! Job well done!

  4. Pingback: Pallet Wall | Truths of a Blessed Life

  5. Pingback: DIY Painted Curtains | Truths of a Blessed Life

Leave a Reply

