Painting Pumpkins

I get Thursdays off, so I try and make it a special time that I get to spend with my boys.  And since it’s too cold to do much outside lately, we have to start getting creative inside.  I grabbed a couple of pumpkins, some kid-friendly paint, stripped the boys down, and let them go for it!

Image

Andrew picked purple and green, and Eli picked blue and pink.

Image

It started off civil enough…

Image

Yes, Andrew has a tat.  We start ’em young around here.

Image

…until they realized that it was funner to paint themselves rather than the pumpkins!  

Image

Image

Image

Then they started standing up and going for the neck – time to abort attempted project, STAT!

Image

All of this craziness happened within a matter of 4 minutes flat.  Sorry the pictures were blurry.  It’s hard trying to snap a shot while keeping the kids seated on the paper, a dog out of the paint, and hands clean enough to handle a camera all while trying to keep them from choking each other.  I hope that this is a comfort to all other moms of toddlers out there that Pinterest projects for kids which promise to keep them “busy for hours” is a lie.  Flat out lie.  It’s a scam, my friends.  My rowdy little boys will find a way to destroy anything you give them in under 5 minutes.  It’s a proven-again-and-again fact.  

I don’t know why I get my hopes up thinking that I might actually get to do a project with them that won’t require a bath immediately following.  But you know what?  I don’t have Pinterest-perfect kids.  My kids make messes – and I mean some pretty huge messes.  But it’s okay.  I had a blast with them.  They were laughing and squealing for those 4 minutes (well, all up until Eli got the death grip on Andrew), and all the mess was worth it!  

I love those munchkins, and they ended up with some pretty cute pumpkins:

Image

I’m one proud momma!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

