National Adoption Month

adoptionmonth

November is National Adoption Month.  If I must be completely honest, I did not know until this year that a National Adoption Month existed.  I didn’t pay any attention to it.  Kind of like I didn’t “really” pay attention to the orphans.  Sure, I knew there were “a lot” out there.  And I knew it was sad.  And that’s why I didn’t like thinking about it.  It made me uncomfortable.  It really made me uncomfortable because I knew that if I paid attention to it I’d have to do something about it.  And I think I already knew what that meant for our family – I knew God was calling us to adopt.  Because I’m a selfish person, I chose to turn away from the fact that there are 153 million (MILLION) orphans worldwide.  Slowly God softened my heart, and eventually broke my heart.  The fact that these precious children don’t have families breaks God’s heart – and it now breaks mine.

This year we will be celebrating National Adoption Month.  And to start off the month, today is Orphan Sunday.

OS-2013-Facebook

This is a day where Christians around the world come together to stand for the orphan.  We are called by the Lord to defend the fatherless, and this is what this day is all about.  Did I mention that it’s a worldwide affair?  How cool is it that people all over the world are coming together to focus on an issue that is so close to God’s heart?!  And a little factoid, Orphan Sunday started in a church in Zambia, Africa almost one decade ago when a local pastor appealed to his congregation to care for the many orphans in his area affected by the HIV epidemic and poverty.  It has since spread all around the world in an effort to raise awareness of the need for orphan care.

Sometime today, please be thinking about orphan care.  If you claim to follow Jesus as your Savior, then you are commanded to care for the orphan.  This doesn’t mean that everyone is called to adopt, but there is something for everyone to do in order to care for the fatherless.  Check out the Orphan Sunday Website to learn more!  Prayerfully consider becoming a foster parent, financially supporting the cause of adoption, sponsoring a child in need, or adoption itself.  We have sponsored a little girl from Kenya through Compassion International for several years now.  In addition to financially supporting her every month and praying for her, we exchange letters regularly and it has been amazing to interact with her and watch her thrive and grow in the Lord.  Check it out and see how you can get involved!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

