Christmas Card 2013

Merry Christmas!

IMG_1291

Wow, I can’t believe this time of year has rolled around already! It seems to fly by faster every year. We have had an unbelievably busy year, but oh how God has been faithful in showing Himself to us! The Christmas season really makes me think about all of the blessings I have in my life, and as I sit here and write this, I am in tears because of how much he has given to us when we really don’t deserve anything. Most of all, He sent Jesus to this earth to die for you and me and everyone in between. Wow, what an awesome God we serve!

As I mentioned, we have been busy! Grant is now teaching art FULL TIME at a high school that is about three blocks from our house. This is really convenient when we are running behind in the mornings and he has to get the kids to daycare down the street and then pop over to work. Especially if (usually when) he forgets his lunch/glasses/name badge/school key (take your pick) and has to come back home quick and get it. Poor guy, I don’t blame him! He has so much on his plate that I’m surprised he makes it out of the house with pants on. I usually don’t let that one slide. He is co-leading a men’s ministry. They are meeting at the Salvation Army and planting themselves in the midst of men without homes in order to minister to them and provide them with a warm meal. They have not been doing that long, but already Grant has found such joy in developing relationships with these men.

I have been busy with work, especially since it’s cold/flu season now. I’m probably a walking petri dish between all my elderly patients at work, the kids bringing home who-knows-what-virus, and Grant bringing home the teen-viruses. I think we have all viruses across the lifespan at our house, so we’ll be lucky if we all survive.

Anyway, I was so grateful when our budgets allowed me to decrease my hours at work a little so that I can be home with the kids more. I now work 4 days a week and stay home three. I have really enjoyed having that one extra day with the kiddos, but it naturally makes me crave more time with them.

I mean, how could anyone not crave time with these two cuties??

IMG_0564

Eli and Drew have been busy (BUSY) little boys. They really enjoy daycare and playing with all their friends. Eli loves doing anything that is typical of little boys – throwing things, hitting/banging things, manipulating objects, making messes, running, singing, dancing, and the occasional throwing fits (day.in.day.out). We are almost done with the terrible twos, but I hear the terrible threes are worse…{insert prayer request right here}: patience!!

View More: http://kandipopplerphotography.pass.us/hansonfamily

Andrew is such a cutie. We are so proud of Eli’s smarts (that kid may have Harvard in his future), but I think Andrew excelled in the looks arena. He’s already told me he’s going straight into J. Crew modeling. That is, if we can get his eating under control. That kid can pack it away, and I have no idea where. I mean, he’s about two square feet, total. So where in the world does three helpings of hotdish go?

IMG_0255

We are all getting excited to welcome our next child into our family – although we are pretty sure we are in for a long wait yet. Most of you all know, but we are working through the process of International Adoption from South Africa. We started this process in April, and we are now just getting our official documents together and ready to send overseas. We are hoping to do this in the next 6 weeks or so. Once they get to South Africa, we have a (projected) 12-18 month wait until we receive a referral for a child who needs a forever family. Grant had a dream last night that it only took three weeks, so we’re praying for that!

HansonChristmas2013

Photo courtesy of murphyphotographydesign.

Merry Christmas, everyone! We are praying that your year was as abundantly full as ours and more. We lift up this next year to our Savior and give Him the glory as we walk in faith through the New Year!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

