Wow! Three Years!

Three years ago today I was sitting in a hospital bed, holding my firstborn, madly in love with this little alien-like creature, so happy that he was finally here.  At the same time, I was frightened beyond belief that I would not be able to actually pull off this mothering thing.

Well, here we are, 3 years later, and I’m still not sure if I can pull off this mothering thing.  But I am still madly in love with that little boy!  Eli turned 3 yesterday.  Three years old already!

As the years have gone by (all three of them), I have gotten more and more lax about birthday themes.  I think that directly correlates to the fact that my eyelids are more and more droopy and my head is more and more fuzzy.  Frankly, this momma is tired.  And I didn’t have the energy to come up with some cool theme and go all out.  I couldn’t even really think of a theme at all.  So I went to Eli.

Mom:  Eli, what kind of a cake do you want this year?

Eli:  A green one.

Mom:  Okay, but what kind of green one?

Eli:  A tractor one.

Smart boy.

So there I had it.  John Deere theme, here we come.

Let’s start this party, shall we?  Introducing…the birthday boy!

IMG_1744

 

Thanks, Grandpa Terry, for all the John Deere wear!  Now the theme can be even themier!  Yes, themier is a word.  Well it is now anyway.

Little brother wanted in on the action.  That’s the way Andrew rolls nowadays.  If big brother is doing it, Andrew is doing it too.

IMG_1748

 

Then it was time for Eli’s friends to arrive!

 

IMG_1764

 

IMG_1765

 

Regarding the cake:  I was tempted to try some cool, three-tiered cake with a tire as the bottom layer and a tractor made out of fondant on top, you know, something cool from Pinterest.  But then I thought about the effort that would take. (I don’t even know how to use fondant – I’m a bit intimidated by it.  And let’s face it, fondant tastes like 10-year-old toothpaste.  What kid wants to eat that?)  So instead I went with this:

 

IMG_1779

Buttercream frosting all the way, baby.  I grabbed a few tractors and cows from Eli’s toys, threw them on top and called it a day.

 

IMG_1788

 

Overall, I don’t think Eli even realized that there wasn’t much decor for his birthday.  He got full on hotdogs, cake and ice cream, played his heart out with his friends, and got lots of great little presents.  He had a blast.

Yesterday was his real birthday (Monday birthdays = ick).  Anyway, we decided to take him out and leave Andrew with some friends.  We needed some alone-with-Eli-time.  So we took him to a bowling alley for the first time.  We walked in the door and didn’t make it past the arcade games for the first hour.  Eli was mesmerized by all the lights.

 

IMG_1799

 

 

IMG_1811

 

Daddy had to take a turn, too:

 

IMG_1816

 

 

IMG_1822

 

After we paid five bucks and redeemed all our tickets for TWO tootsie rolls, it was time to get our bowl on.

 

IMG_1829

 

 

IMG_1859

 

 

IMG_1831

 

 

IMG_1837

 

Eli did great!

IMG_1854

 

I mean, seriously!  Look at that score!

IMG_1862

 

Grant and I got schooled by a 3-year-old!  The pathetic part is that we actually tried!  We’re a little rusty in the ‘ole bowling department.

Just for kicks, we had to grab a picture of Eli wearing this shirt:

IMG_1741

 

That was his daddy’s shirt when he was a little boy.  It’s a little small on Eli and looks like a muscle shirt.  They must have grown three-year-olds smaller back then than they do nowadays.

We had such a great time.  I love celebrating the lives of my little guys.  It refreshes me and reminds me how much I love them and what a blessing they are to us.  It gives me a newfound energy and motivation to have more patience with them and meet their needs.  Which is needed the day after a day like this where they stay up two hours past their bedtimes!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wow! Three Years!

  1. Lu Ann says:

    Thanks for posting this, since we couldn’t make it over. Looks like another successful birthday celebration to me. Love the picture of the shirt Grant wore. How could these 2 boys look so much older already? I saw them less than a month ago, and now they look so much older! You are a wonderful mom, Jen. Don’t sell yourself short. We couldn’t ask for a better daughter-in-law and mother to our grandsons. Thank you for being you. You are the best.
    PS While at the arcade, did Eli see Wreck-it Ralph anywhere? 🙂

  2. Sandy says:

    I love reading your posts…I think that “BIG” Kid of your is the one who wanted to play with the arcade!!!!! Time really does go fast…

  3. Dave & Cheryl Dierenfeld says:

    Thanks for the posts…it lets us re-live the joy of raising our boys and its especially meaningful since we’ve gotten to know your boys better through the nursery. How fortunate to have a grandpa that sends John Deere stuff! It doesn’t get much better than that!

Leave a Reply

