Christmas Card Holder

I know I’ve been really slacking on writing any project posts.  I still need to write some posts about our bedroom, as we continue to work on that.  There are still projects that we need to get done in there.  Curtains would be nice.  But to tell you the truth, our projects have slowed down lately for a couple of reasons:

1) We are working REALLY hard on the adoption process right now.  Every spare moment we have is literally filled up with adoption paperwork.  But thankfully we are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel on this one and we should be done with paperwork soon.  We hope to have an update on that in the near future!

2) We are on a pretty limited budget, due to #1.  Yes, DIY is not only fun but cheaper than hiring or buying already made most of the time.  However, let’s face it – it still costs money.  And right now we need to put any big projects on hold until this adoption is funded.  And that’s okay.  It is teaching us patience and that we can’t have everything we want right away – the exact thing we are trying to teach our 3-year-old at this point.  Amazing how God teaches us the same things and  humbles us by our hypocrisy sometimes!

3) Winter + Minnesota + painting without ventilation = unhealthy situation.  Don’t do it.

So that being said, I’m going to try and share a few things here and there that I’ve done in the past.  We’ll start with the most recent.  And it’s not even that recent, since I’m going back to before Christmas.

For several years now, I have had a love-hate relationship with Christmas cards.  I absolutely love getting cards in the mail from our friends and family and catching up on their lives, seeing all the growing kids and those perfect Christmas pictures that everyone gets.  But once I got them, I never knew what to do with them.  I just can’t bring myself to throw them.  No hard feelings to those of you that do.  But I can’t.  In fact, I have Christmas cards from before Grant and I got married almost 8 years ago that are still separated in a box, held together with a rubber band.  I have to think of a better solution for those, but that is another project for another time.  I was just sick of having all these Christmas cards sprawled out on my counter for the whole month of December.  I needed a cute way to get them displayed without getting chicken juice all over them!

This project was super easy and took me a total of about 15 minutes.  I went out to the garage and found a scrap piece of plywood.  Nothing fancy.  At all.  I wouldn’t even call it real wood.

IMG_0575

 

I put a little steel-wool and vinegar solution and turned the wood to this color:

IMG_1305

 

As soon as that dried, I grabbed some my twine I had on hand and my staple gun.  I started stapling to the back and wrapping the twine up and down the board.

IMG_1303

 

There was really no skill involved in the layout.  I just wrapped around and stapled as I went, making sure to get some criss-cross happening.

When I was all done I hung some wire on the back of it and put it up on the wall.

IMG_1899

 

I had a little peanut butter-covered photo crasher that wanted a little attention:

IMG_1902

 

And here was my holder at the end of the New Year when it was all full of smiling faces and cute kiddos.

 

IMG_1892

 

If I had to make any changes to it, I probably would have used a thicker twine, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I used what was available.  And I think it turned out great.  It’s lightweight so it hangs easy and obviously supports a lot of cards!  And the best part?  It was absolutely FREE!

I enjoyed this so much that I have to admit I just took the Christmas cards down 2 days ago.  Yup, I’m a little behind.  Welcome to my world.

I’m thinking this will work good to hold mail or other important documents in the future, so I can keep it up year-round!

Well, that’s all I have for now.  Look back soon for other small little things I’ve been up to when I can find a minute.  And I’m also getting the painting bug, so I can’t wait for things to warm up so I can paint something.  Anything.  Oh Grant, keep the kids away from me or we could have a mess on our hands…

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

