Scrabble Name Board

I’m going to just show you a project that I made as a Christmas gift for my Mother-in-Law.  She went from 0 Grandkids to 5 grandkids in under 5 years.  And that’s with her only two children contributing.  That’s a lot of work, folks!  But also a lot of blessing!

I can tell without a doubt that her grandkids are the most special people in the world to her.  In fact, she retired early, as soon as she possibly could, and I tend to believe it has a lot to do with 5 little tikes and ten chubby little cheeks!

So for Christmas, the boys and I decided to make something special for her.  She loves games, and especially games that require thinking – she’s a teacher, should we expect anything less??  So I went to the thrift store and bought an old Scrabble game.  I also bought a piece of white scrapbook cardstock as well as semi-transparent piece of scrapbook paper.  Then I found a scrapbook shadowbox that you can display just one scrapbook page.

The hardest part was getting the letters to lay out in the order we wanted – and that would allow for additional names later on!

IMG_2632

The fun part for the boys was getting to make paint handprints.  I didn’t get any pictures of the actual process, or the project assembly.  I know, bad DIY-er.  I was really not wanting to get finger paint all over my camera, so I just put it away and decided to have fun with the kiddos instead.

So here’s the finished product:

ScrabbleNames

 

Basically, I just put the semi-transparent sheet over the kids’ painted handprints, and then adhered the letters to the semitransparent sheet.

Eli was so excited to give it to Grandma for Christmas.

IMG_1626

 

I think there will be plenty of space to add on some names in the future.  Hold on, Grandma!  I’m sure more are coming!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scrabble Name Board

  1. LuAnn says:

    I love it, Jen!! I also love all 10 chubby cheeks. I am waiting (and waiting) for nicer weather so I can travel east and west to do some spoiling! Love you guys…as Eli would say…”obviously!”

  2. We can’t wait until this cold weather is gone! Eli just told me today that “We should go to Grandma Lu Ann’s and Grandpa Norm’s house.”

  3. Lu Ann says:

    Oh, Eli, that’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

