DIY Painted Curtains

I realize that I haven’t shown you pictures of our completed bedroom yet.  And that’s because it’s still not done.  We started our “bedroom makeover” last summer, and we are still not finished.  Granted, we’ve done a lot of work in there!  We are starting to put little touches on it to really make it feel comfy, which is nice.  It is starting to turn into a little cozy retreat, which is just what I was going for.  We decided that was the one place where we didn’t want any kid stuff overtaking it, but somehow we have stray trains, sippy cups and Mickey Mouse underwear (Eli’s, not Grant’s, don’t worry – he grew out of Mickey skivvies a long time ago!) sneaking their way into our space most of the time.  How do kids DO that?!

Anyway, I’ll get to posting before/after pics of our whole room soon.  But for now, I’m going to show you my painted curtains that I made.  One aspect of our room that did not feel complete to me yet was the window.

IMG_0893

I loved the way our pallet wall turned out, but the lack of window treatment really prevented me from enjoying it completely.  So it was time to make the curtains.  I put this project off for months because I thought it was going to be tedious, and wasn’t sure how it would turn out.

I started with two 9ft X 6ft canvas drop cloths from Lowe’s.  They are around ten dollars per dropcloth, but I got them on sale for $6 each.

drop cloth

 

As you can see from the picture above, the canvases are a dark tan.  Too much tan for me.  They are also quite stiff.  So I took to washing them.  With bleach.  Seven times.  Yes, SEVEN times.  And I used bleach each of those seven times.

My plan was to paint these dropcloths.  But I needed a pattern and a stencil to make that pattern.  The wall stencils online could run someone anywhere from $25 – $50, depending on the durability and the pattern.  That wasn’t going to happen for this frugal girl.  The whole purpose of making my own curtains was for them to be CHEAP (and the satisfaction of making something on my own).  So I decided to make my own stencil.  I picked up two of these from the Dollar Store:

binder

These can cost several dollars at Wal-Mart or Amazon, but the same exact thing is just $1 at the Dollar Store.  I grabbed two.  We removed the metal binder from the inside so we were left with just the plastic.  And then I taped them together.  I found a pattern I liked, then blew it up and printed it out at Office Max for $0.69.  I traced it onto the plastic binders with an X-Acto knife.  This was probably the most tedious part, and took a couple of hours.  It’s pretty mindless work though, so it can be done while watching your favorite TV show.

I didn’t get any pictures of that process, but here is what I ended up with when I was done making my stencil:

IMG_2073

Since I’m married to an artist, we have lots of canvas lying around the house.  I nabbed a piece to try this stencil out on.  I wasn’t sure that it was actually going to work.

IMG_2072

It worked pretty well.  So I decided to go for it.

IMG_2077

I sent all the boys away and locked the dog up so I wouldn’t have paint scattered throughout the house.  I made sure to cover my floor with some plastic wrap that I had lying around.

IMG_2078

I started in one corner of my canvas and then used a small roller with some white paint that I had.  Moment of truth…

IMG_2080

It actually worked!  And it looked better on my dropcloths that were softer and lighter than it did on the practice piece.

So I set to work.IMG_2081

IMG_2082

I was planning to go all the way up the curtain, but when I got a little over half-way, I realized I really liked it like that.  And it was less work, so I quit there!  I did both dropcloths, and then it was time to make the curtain rod.

Rods can be expensive!  But I wanted an industrial look, and I wanted it to match our bedside tables.  So I went to Menard’s and grabbed two 3/4in x 3ft pipes and then 3/4in flanges, corner joints and a connector.

IMG_2103

Unlike the galvanized metal on our bedside tables (which I wanted worn looking), I wanted this metal to look clean and new but not too shiny.  I used some quick spray paint to spruce them up a bit.

IMG_2105

And here’s the difference it made (painted on the left, not painted on the right):

IMG_2104

I did this to all the joint pieces as well as the rods.  After the metal dried, it was time to put everything together.

IMG_2106

For my curtain rings, I used the clips.  These are available all over, but I got mine at Target for around $6 per set.  I bought a set for each canvas.

IMG_2107

Now it’s going up!

IMG_2109This is where the hubby got involved.  Don’t get me wrong, I love using a power tool as much as the next girl, but when it comes to getting things to stick securely to a wall, I get a little skittish.  I have fears of being woken up in the middle of the night by sudden loud crashes as something heavy falls off of our walls.  It’s happened before, and I’d prefer it to never happen again!

We thought we were going to have to drill anchors through the pallet boards all the way into the drywall, but it ended up that the rod really isn’t that heavy, and 4 screws into the pallet wood on each end was enough to make that thing solid.  It isn’t going anywhere.  Good thing we bradded the snot out of those pallet boards!

IMG_2111

Now time to get my new curtains up!  They were too long, at 9 feet in length.  And just a side note, I am not a sewer.  I wish I was, but I’m not, I won’t pretend.  But I do have my grandma’s sewing machine and I do intend to learn – someday.  So hemming them was out of the question.  This is one reason why I went with the curtain clips to hang them.  I just folded down the tops to make a nice detail at the top of the curtains.

IMG_2112

I clipped them up and “Woop, there it is!”

IMG_2124

Just know that I HATE (I mean truly detest) shooting pictures in our bedroom.  We get such terrible natural light.  I’m not a good photographer in the first place, so this room is my photographing worst enemy!  So needless to say, it looks much better in person.

IMG_2116

I really love the small detail of how it looks like a little paint is missing here and there throughout the pattern as the sun shines through.  It makes it look more “rustic” and “worn in”.

IMG_2113

So there ya have it.  It’s too bad I waited so long to do this project, because I’m really enjoying them now.  It wasn’t even that hard!

 

Cost Breakdown for Bedroom Window Treatment:

Dropcloths (2) – $12.00

Plastic binders for stencil (2) – $2.00

Printed pattern from Office Max – $0.69

Paint/rollers – already owned

Rod supplies – $20.00

Curtain clips – $12.00

Screws to hang rod – already owned

GRAND TOTAL: $46.69

Not bad for a whole window treatment with it’s own character!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

