Priorities

Well, in case you haven’t noticed, I haven’t been around the internet for a couple of weeks.  I’ve been taking a little break, realigning my priorities a bit.  I realized that I was faltering in my time with the Lord and neglecting devoted time with my family, because I was filling up my life with other things.  I decided to step back from social media temporarily to allow God reveal things to me.  It has been a challenging, but good two weeks!

So what has been going on in the last couple of weeks?  Glad you asked!

 

#1 Priority – Jesus:

I decided I wasn’t going to blog or go onto Facebook and instead spend more time reading the Bible, praying, and investing in my family.  After doing this for a few days, I realized that I couldn’t just simply cut something out of my life and expect that I would automatically read my Bible more.  At first it didn’t happen like that.  I easily filled up the time that I would be online with other things.  Things that weren’t “kingdom” things.  Things that didn’t really matter, but kept me busy and distracted.

I realized that I needed to make a commitment and develop self discipline regarding the Word of God.  It needed to be a conscious decision to put down whatever I was doing and take that time to spend in His Word and talk with the Lord.  The last week I have been going to bed earlier, and finding that quiet time to be so valuable as I open my Bible and pour His word into my heart.  I am learning that when I am in the Bible and talking to the Lord more consistently, I am able to forgive easier, take offense less, and keep anxiety low.  Amazing how He works like that!

 

#2 Priority – Marriage:

Grant and I pawned off the kiddos for a Saturday and attended a REAL MARRIAGE videocast that our small group hosted.  This was presented by Pastor Mark Driscoll from Mars Hill Church and was so great!  Grant and I felt refreshed in our marriage and learned some great things about Jesus and what his intention for marriage really is.  We are continuing to work through and ponder the challenging aspects to this, some of which we hadn’t heard before at previous conferences we’ve been to.  There is a whole sermon series available online, click HERE to check it out!

IMG_0899

 

#3 Priority – Family:

We’ve been spending a lot of family time together.  It’s been getting nice here in Minnesota (finally!), so we’ve been getting outside more.  Walks, bike rides, park visits – the kids are loving it!

eliskid

IMG_3204

 

IMG_3222

easter pics

IMG_3224

IMG_3144

We’ve been making more meals together.  Challenging with a 1-year-old and 3-year-old, but I’m trying to lighten up a little.

IMG_0906

IMG_0879

 

#4 Priority – Adoption:

We have turned most of our attention to education courses and fundraising.  We have most of our education requirements done up to this stage, so most of our effort is spent getting some fundraiser projects set up.  We are planning to do a couple of things this summer while the weather is nice out.  I will write a post soon about our big project for the summer (which I am PUMPED about), but first up is our garage sale.  If you have any items you’d like to donate to sell at our garage sale in the middle of May and live near Mankato, we’d love the donation!  I can come get your stuff, or you can drop it off.  Also, if you live near/in our hometown we will be coming back next weekend to celebrate Easter, so let us know if you’d like us to bring anything back!

garagesaleblog

 

#5 – Community

We are really loving serving in our community.  It’s hard to find time, and we can easily make that an excuse.  But Jesus never did.  That was His mission.  And so we are trying to make it more of a priority for us, because we love Jesus and we love people.

Grant has been busy planning for the OX.  Check out that website HERE to find out more!

oxwinter13

 

The ladies from our small group got together for an afternoon full of girl stuff – including fabric, sewing machines, lots of chatting, and (of course!) food.  We made Hats of Hope, sponsored by Sakatah Colors (check it out!!), a local apparel and accessories business here in town, owned by one of our very own small group members.  We made A LOT of soft fabric hats that will be taken to our local cancer center here in Mankato to wear during the time in which cancer patients have lost their hair.  It was so much fun taking this time to serve others who are going through one of the worst experiences of their lives!  Thanks, Meg, for spearheading this and let us be a part of your heart’s desire!

hatsofhope

Yup, I’m the only one with my eyes closed.  Darn timers, they always throw me off!


hatsofhope2 hatsofhope3 hatsofhope4

 

So there ya have it.  Even though I’ve been absent in the cyber world, I’ve been SO, SO alive in my real world.  My relationship with God was renewed, I’m seeing my husband in a new and refreshing way, and I am appreciating the small moments with my boys.

What a good way to start our spring!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

