Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Smoothies

Say Whaaat?!  If that title doesn’t make you start drooling like a Saint Bernard in July, I don’t know what will!

We went to one of our local smoothie places a few weeks ago for a treat with the boys, and this happened to be one of the specials.  So we thought we’d give it a try, along with some other kind (I don’t even remember what it was because the chocolate one stole the show).  Oh. My. Word.  It was amazing!  All four of us were fighting over that one until we slurped the last drop.

I’ve been getting into a smoothie kick lately.  Mainly because I’m always running late for work and don’t have time to make myself breakfast and actually sit down and eat it.  If I do make breakfast, I’m usually trying to juggle toast in one hand, fill the dog dish with food, curl my hair, pack my lunch, brush kids’ teeth, change a poopy diaper, etc.  So some mornings I don’t even want to eat because it takes too much time.  Now, being a healthcare provider, I know that’s not a smart thing to do.  Especially because I become a really crabby person around 10:00 am if I haven’t eaten breakfast.  So for the safety of my patients in clinic, I need breakfast.

Smoothies are fast, easy, and (can be) healthy!  I’ve been making a lot of fruit/spinach blends, but then I remembered that coveted chocolate peanut butter banana smoothie.  And I decided to come up with my own.  So that’s what I’m sharing with you today!

IMG_8819

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp powdered flax seed

1 Cup spinach leaves

2 Frozen bananas, peeled (I took them straight out of the freezer and cut the peel off with a knife)

1 Tbsp of peanut butter

1/4 Cup of Vanilla Yogurt (you could be even more healthy and go Greek, but we didn’t have any at the time)

1 or 1.5 Cups of chocolate Almond Milk

IMG_2262

I didn’t really measure anything when I made this (as I rarely do when I cook), so the above portions are guesstimates.  Just go for it.  You can’t get it wrong with a smoothie!

 

Pour it all into a blender, and blend ‘er up!

IMG_2271

Yup, the chocolate smoothie looks green.  Don’t let that scare you.  You really can’t taste the green.  I promise.

Eli promises:

IMG_2263

I mean, look at that face.  Those eyes say it all: “Holy chocolaty-peanut buttery goodness, what is that, Mom?!  I need more, and I never want to stop drinking this!”

IMG_2265

 

Andrew was also a fan.

IMG_2267

 

This was so delish.  It was like eating peanut butter toast and drinking chocolate milk at the same time while washing it down with a banana.  Yum!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

