Father’s Day

Fathers.  So important.  I was made acutely aware of that the week before Father’s day.  Grant was gone for the whole week, about 5 hours away on my parents’ farm, helping my dad catch up on some farming since he has been set back with some health issues.  Grant got a real nice farmer’s tan, and I got a real nice reminder of how much our sons need their Daddy.  Every night they would cry because Daddy is the one that reads the Bible at bedtime, and he wasn’t there to do it.  Daddy was supposed to hug and kiss them goodnight and he wasn’t there.  They clung to me, but there is something about the presence of Daddy that makes all things right.  I am so thankful that my boys have a Daddy that sets our children as one of his biggest priorities.  He models for them where to find their identity – in Christ.  He models how to be a man – not by the world’s standards but by the standards set by our Father in Heaven.

I was so lucky to find this man who my children call “Daddy.”  You know how I was able to spot him?

Because of this man:

Jen Terry and the Bull Moose

Yup, my Daddy.  He showed me how to look for a man of integrity, honesty, and commitment to the Lord.  Thanks Daddy!  I love you!

Grant came home the day before Father’s Day, and the boys were so happy to see him!  They all wrestled on the floor for at least 10 minutes straight (anyone who has a toddler knows that 10 minutes is an eternity in toddler years – so be amazed, people!)

IMG_1235

We were actually able to get a nice picture of the boys together before church – one that wasn’t really blurry!  Most of our pictures consist of Eli cheesing out with Andrew’s whole head a blur.

After church, we gave Daddy his Father’s Day present:

IMG_2788

Ha!  Yeah, right!  Pretty sure that wouldn’t fit in our driveway.  And pretty sure our neighbors wouldn’t like that.

For Mother’s day, I wanted my pictures with the boys outside, with some flowers maybe, in the grass.  I asked Grant what he wanted to do for pictures, and he said, “Let’s find some tractors!”  To which Eli quickly responded, “YEAH!  Let’s find some tractors!  Can I ride in one?!”  Apparently the farmer’s tan has gone to the brain.

So we drove to the nearest John Deere dealership to find a tractor or two.  We did get the boys to stop climbing long enough to snap a few photos!

IMG_2763

IMG_2778

IMG_2803

 

It’s so good to have Daddy back.  Thank you, Grant Hanson, for taking the responsibility of shaping our sons’ hearts and souls seriously!!  Happy Father’s Day!

 

IMG_1239

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Father’s Day

  1. Sandy says:

    i ENJOY READING YOUR BLOGS..

Leave a Reply

