Winter Stick Wreath

Now that we’ve been stuck inside as it’s gotten colder, I’ve been feeling a little stir crazy, especially in the DIY arena. It’s really hard to do big room makeovers during the winter here, so I usually stick to small crafty things and dream of the big things I want to tackle once the state of Minnesota thaws out again in the spring.  Today I’m going to share with you the DIY stick wreath that the boys and I made.

IMG_1910

And the best thing about this project?  Absolutely FREE!  There are a ton of different ideas for wreaths out there, but I wanted a fall/winter looking wreath that I could put above my door and leave all season long.

We started off but cutting out a small cardboard ring to glue our sticks on.  While I did that, I sent the boys outside to find a bunch of sticks.  They were more than happy to obey – apparently anything to do with sticks is fun for boys!

We cut our sticks up, and then took the longest sticks and glued then equally around the cardboard.

IMG_3752

Then we just glued all the sticks randomly around, filling in the gaps.  Sorry I don’t have many pictures of the actual process.  The boys were a little too interested in “shooting” the glue gun, so I was more worried about burned little fingers than documentation.

IMG_3760

Then I took some old yarn I had laying around to make my own pom poms.

IMG_3761

I wrapped a bunch of yarn around a fork, tied them off, and then snipped the ends open to form the pom pom.

IMG_3764

Once I had enough, I hot-glued those babies on, and we were done!

IMG_3797

This was a fun project that the boys could help with, and best of all, it was SO free.  Like I didn’t spend a cent.  And now the area above my door doesn’t look quite so blank!

IMG_3798

So go make one of your own!  Except if you’re in Minnesota, you may need to dig for some sticks now since everything is buried in snow!

Happy Saturday, everyone!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Stick Wreath

  1. Megan Elford says:

    I love this! My kind of DIY – free and easy :-). I nay just use this idea as a Christmas gift for Gramma — she lives nature-based decor!

Leave a Reply

