Goals for 2015

I’ve never been a real fan of New Year’s resolutions.  Maybe I’m just not confident that I could do any one thing for a whole year, and so I always feel like it’s setting me up for failure.  We have had such a crazy, stressful 2014, and so we have had a burning desire to simplify our lives a little, and slow down.  Which is odd, considering this year I actually have a bunch of goals that I want to meet.  The word “goal” sounds so much better than “resolution” for some reason.  Maybe it’s that it’s not quite so concrete.

The following things are all things I want to work toward and I hope that they make us healthier and happier overall this year!

1.  Read the whole Bible in 2015.  I’ve never done this.  I’ve grown up going to church and reading my Bible, but I’ve never read the whole thing straight through.  And Grant and I decided that this is the year we are going to do it.  We both need to get into God’s word more, and what better way than to read the whole story that He has written for us!  We are going to follow a chronological reading plan, which I’m really excited about, since I’m Type A and like things to be in order.  We are following this reading plan if you’re interested and want to join us!

2.  Go to Africa!  Visiting Africa is going to be really cool, but even better than that, it means we are bringing our child(ren) home and this adoption is complete!  Even though I really can’t say in certainty, I am hopeful that this is the year we become a family of 5 (or 6!).  Please work in the hands of the South African government quickly, Lord!

3.  Run a Half-Marathon.  Yup, I’ve started running.  Running was definitely not my thing.  But Grant and I started about 3 months ago, and I’m actually starting to enjoy it!  I have more energy, eat less, and have a better mood overall.  Grant and I will be signing up for the Mankato Half-Marathon set for October.  We hope to raise money for World Vision in order to better the lives of impoverished children around the world.  If I can run 13.1 miles, so can you!  So go ahead and think about signing up!

Those are the big things that I want to accomplish this year.  Other than that, here are some things that I’ve learned about myself recently that I really need to focus on (and probably review this post many times to remind myself throughout the year):

4.  Love my husband better.  And by loving, this means respecting.  He is a man of wisdom, and takes integrity seriously in our family.  Some days I really feel like I don’t deserve him.  I easily ridicule, criticize, and become stubborn.  I want to ask for forgiveness faster and become angry slower.  That man is my best friend, and I want to remember that every day of 2015 – and beyond!

5.  More Grace, Less Frustration.  Why do I so quickly rush to anger with regard to those close to me?  Especially my children.  It’s so easy to become frustrated at their shortcomings as they learn to navigate through this big world, and at 2 and 3-years-old I’m already holding them to such high standards.  Checking my heart in at the Heavenly throne of grace before rushing to frustration at my children’s mistakes will do them and myself a lot of good.  I want them to know without a doubt that I love them in spite of their actions, when they are making good choices and bad choices.  My love for them is unconditional, and they need to clearly understand that.

6.  Let it Go.  I’ve already mentioned that I’m a Type A person, so I like things to make sure things go the way I want them.  And quite frankly, it’s exhausting for me to try and achieve perfection in all the areas of my life.  It’s a constant feeling of drowning, and so I need to let things go a little.  Especially those things that don’t really matter (*ahem dishes), and focus on what really does – my family.

IMG_1982

So those are just a few things that I want to take place in 2015 – doesn’t look like we’ll be slowing down much after all, huh?  We want to simplify, but hopefully not slow down I guess.  When I slow down I get lazy, and then I think God has a harder time using me for His kingdom!  He’s got lots of work for us to do, so let’s get going!

Happy New Year and praying for lots of blessings to you in 2015!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

