Sunroom Update

So I promised this a long time ago, but I’m finally getting around to letting you in on our big project of last summer – our sunroom update. This project happened sooner than we wanted it to.  Our sunroom is a nice room with lots of natural sunlight.  I guess that’s why they call it a sunroom, huh?  But we had a terrible door that didn’t really open unless you got one foot on the wall to brace yourself and then pull with all your might.  Nice and kid proof, but not exactly something to put me in a good mood first thing in the morning when I let the dog out.  Oh, and the door also leaked and had rotted on the bottom.  So we knew it needed to eventually be replaced.  Last spring we got a lot(!) of rain, which did not mesh well with our leaky door.  The subfloor was rotted around the door.  We knew we wanted to eventually take the carpet out of the sunroom too, so the rotten floor and leaky door pushed us to it sooner rather than later!

I’m going to take you way back to the days that we bought our house 5 years ago.  This is what our sunroom looked like before we moved in:

DSC03857

When we did move in, we didn’t have much to go in this room.

DSC03971

It didn’t last like this long.  The yellow walls were too much for us, so we decided to tone it down.  We also used a stone spray paint and heat-resistant black spray paint to take care of that brass fireplace.

IMG_0056

IMG_2738

IMG_2736

And this was pretty much the way it stayed for four years.  Until the water damage.

So last summer we started “phase two” of the sunroom update.  We had the rotted door and damaged subfloor replaced.

IMG_2527

IMG_2940

We got a sliding door instead of a swinging door, and the blinds are in the windows.  I think a mom came up with that idea.  Genius!  I would highly recommend that to anyone with little kids/dogs!

And since we were doing that, we decided it was time to tear up the old carpet and start painting trim.

The shelf above the fireplace was a little too “golden” for me.

IMG_2741

So I decided to try out General Finishes Java Gel Stain.  Let me tell you, this is amazing stuff!  It is a little spendy ($20 per quart on Amazon), but a little goes a LONG way!  And it turned out the perfect deep rich color I wanted.

IMG_2936

After painting the walls a toned-down-even-more gray and all the trim white, it was time for flooring.  We didn’t want to keep carpet in this room, because it’s such a high-traffic area.  And, of course, we were going for something cheap because it will likely be semi-permanent.  Wood flooring, or even “fake” wood flooring can be spendy.  We were thinking the floors were going to cost us around $400 at the cheapest.  But then we came across the idea of plywood plank flooring.  Check out this post to see how we did it – and for only 100 big ones!

IMG_3072

So here is what the sunroom looks like today:

IMG_3873

Yes, it is May and these pictures were taken in December, and yes, it really has taken me that long to get this post done.  Life happens, that’s my universal excuse.

IMG_3874

This side of the room needs the most work yet.  I have started my gallery wall.  The chest and random chair I hope to one day replace with comfier seating.  Maybe a white loveseat or small corner couch.  Something that I could curl up with some dim light, a fire, hot cocoa and a book.  Who am I kidding, I haven’t read a book in like 4 years…funny, that’s when I started having kids….coincidence??

IMG_3880

The black rocking chair is older than old and has had a lot of transformation.  We got it at a rummage sale many years ago for dirt cheap.  I sanded the original varnish off of the whole thing about 7 years ago, thinking I was going to re-stain it.  By the time I got done sanding, I changed my mind and painted it light green.  That didn’t last long and I ended up painting it black.  But then it was too shiny and new looking, so I roughed it up, sanding it again so some of the light green would show through.  And that’s where it’s at.  It’s like the chair with 9 lives!  The other chair was a clearance find from Target.com.  The stump table I made and you can find that post here!

IMG_3875

So overall, I like where this room is headed. There are just little things that I need to add, in due time.  I will say that since I took these pictures, the gallery wall has filled up some.  The floors have been great for easy cleaning.  And I really do go in there once in a while after the kids go to bed to enjoy some peace and quiet.  I haven’t started a book though…any suggestions?

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunroom Update

  1. Val says:

    Unbroken, Tortured for Christ, The Hiding Place, The Autobiography of George Muller, God’s Smuggler, anything by Elisabeth Elliott… 🙂

  2. Sarah E. Erk says:

    Fascinating idea for the plywood plank flooring. How has that held up for you? We have a huge master bedroom with 70s shag carpet that we need to put some inexpensive flooring in. It is 22 feet by 15 feet. Do you think it’s too large of an area to attempt this? Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks so much!

    • I think it would be great in a bedroom! We had it in our sunroom for a couple of years before we tore it up to update our wntire first floor to matching plank vinyl. (We knew the plywood flooring would be temporary). It held up perfect during that time. The only thing I’ll mention is that it did tend to yellow over time because 1) there was a lot of sun exposure in the sunroom and 2) we used an oil based poly. If I had it to do over again I’d use a water based poly so that it wouldn’t yellow. Hope this helps, good luck! I’d love to see pics if you tackle this project!

Leave a Reply

