Hacked Husband Blog Post!!

Muhahah!!!!!

Jen has been super busy and hasn’t blogged in a while.  I actually really enjoy reading her blog posts, and it works out well that I like writing them too.

On top of that, we just had something crazy cool happen to us this past weekend and I want to share it with everyone.

Jen is out for a bit so I’m going to try to get this done quick!

Ok, here goes…  This weekend we were camping.  Hopefully Jen can blog about this some time.  We were having loads of fun, the weather was great, no mosquitoes (seriously), etc.

Saturday night we got the kids down (super late, because whose kids actually go to bed early when they’re camping) and we were all sitting out by the fire.  By the way, it’s important to note that we were tent camping.  The only real kind of camping.

Oh, and have you heard about this “glamping” thing?  What will they think of next, Ice Castles for ice fishing? 🙂

Anyway, I started getting nervous about the weather so I checked my phone and noticed that there were some storms possibly headed our way.  I checked the warnings and they were saying 60+ mph winds and half-dollar sized hail!

1

Did I mention we were in tents?  Our kids had a separate smaller tent and I was starting to think about plans for what we would do…  As it got closer and closer I got more and more worried.  Now there was a second cell and it was coming towards us too!

2

We were totally unsure on how this was going to work out, but we thought maybe there was a chance these would go around us, but how convenient would that be?!

3

(Disclaimer: I have no idea why my ads on the Wunderground app think I have an opiate addiction…)

We all decided to head to our tents and see how the weather would pan out, and literally as we walked to our tent, the wind started blowing it down.  I mean, one side of our tent had the stakes actually pulled out of the ground!!

I got the stakes back in and then rigged a line between one of our tent poles and a nearby tree to keep it from blowing down again.

We layed in bed and prayed (HARD) for God to keep us safe, our boys, our family (we were camping with Jen’s brothers family) and to protect all of those at the campground, in the area, and the areas affected currently by the storm.

And then, as we finished praying for the weather and we moved on, the wind stopped.  I’m totally serious here.  Now, I’m usually the most critical one about situations like these, but literally we stopped praying and the storm stopped!  Just like that!!!  Then, to make it even crazier, I looked at my phone again.  And check out the storms!

4     5

It was just so crazy to me that I had to zoom in and see that closer.  Watch the progression.

678

Not only did the storms go around us, but they picked back up once they were around us!!!  If that isn’t the power of prayer in action, I don’t know what is.

People, if you’re ever in a situation where you think there is no way you’re going to make it out, and if you do make it out then it’s all about luck, think again.  Luck is a lie.  There is no such thing as luck.  God holds the entire world in His hand and He is in control of it all.

When you freak out and get stressed, don’t get worried and try to fix it.  Pray.  Seriously, pray.  If I could boil down what I have learned the last 2-3 years of my life as a follower of Jesus into one word it would be prayer.

Again, I’m probably the most critical guy when it comes to someone claiming that something miraculous or strange happened by some seemingly random chance apart from some special prayer or anointing or something else, but seriously this was unreal folks.

And in all of it, this points to the goodness of God and His mercy.  We actually deserve to be washed away in a storm of literal Biblical proportions.  Yet Jesus went into that storm in our place to save us from it.  If this doesn’t make sense to you, I’d be happy to talk to you about it sometime.

Thanks for humoring me and reading this post!  I promise Jen is alive and I’m sure itching to get back to this blog soon.  Hopefully we can give some adoption updates soon as well!

-Grant

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

