Life Update!

Hey all!  Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve last written.  Sorry about that.  It seems like summer hit, we came out of our winter shells and have barely been in the house since!  And if I’m going to be honest, I have kind of been turned off from blogging lately.  I just hit a wall and didn’t know how to get around it.  But this post will be my attempt to catch you up on our lives in the last couple of months, and then I will try to be a little more regular about posting again.  This might be a long one, so grab a cup of coffee, and here we go!

1.  Eli finished his first year of preschool.  What a big boy!

IMG_2446

2.  After Eli finished school, Grant started school!  He started his first semester of his Master’s Program this summer, and he has been busy!  He’s working so hard, completely dedicated, acing his classes and I’m so proud of him!

IMG_4390

3.  We finished up fundraising for our adoption and feel confident that we are fully funded!  We held a Pizza Ranch fundraiser in May and had an AWESOME turnout!

IMG_4387

Then we also had our third (and final!!) adoption fundraiser garage sale.  This one was the biggest of the three, and we broke our record for sales, big time!

IMG_4453

IMG_4454

The boys even sold lemonade at this one!  The little stinkers made like $70!  I don’t know how they did that because I think they drank more than they sold.  Must be because they are cute!

IMG_5359

I will get the blog updated soon on our fundraising goals, and I plan to write a post soon on our journey through fundraising, giving the juicy details of how we reached our goals. Basically, we couldn’t have done it without all of you!

4.  Speaking of adoption, a lot of you are probably wondering about an update on that process.  It really stinks because at this point we cannot give a lot of details.  We have had a lot of emotional ups and downs in the last two months regarding this, and we have made some very hard and important decisions recently.  This is absolutely, hands down, the most emotionally taxing thing we’ve been through.  I’m hoping to do a blog post and share more details down the road, but at this time it is just not possible.  We would love your prayers as we continue to battle through this journey.  We know that this whole process is completely worth it and we will continue to follow the Lord’s leading!

5.  Mother’s Day.  My boys spoil me.  This day is so great because it reminds me of just how blessed and privileged I am that God would make me a mom to these amazing kids!  I never thought I could be a mom to boys, but God knew better and instead gave me the best two boys in the world!

IMG_2412

6.  We got away for our anniversary!  At the end of May, we left the kids with our awesome friends and got out of dodge for a couple of days.  We didn’t even tell people where we were going.  We didn’t want to be found.  And it was great!

IMG_5042_2

6.  The beginning of June brought in Andrew’s 3rd birthday.  Whaat?!  My baby is three??!  How did this happen?!

IMG_4425

I’m planning to write his birthday post soon!  I’m a little behind in case you haven’t caught on yet.

7.  I’ve been able to fit in a little DIY here and there.  We got a free coffee table, so I refinished it with supplies I had on hand and then sold it at our garage sale.

Before:

IMG_4366

And after:

IMG_2549

8.  Father’s Day.  What a great day to honor dads, especially this one.  I don’t know how I got so lucky to have such a great daddy for my children!

IMG_2575

Seriously, I get so giddy and emotional when I look at this picture.  I know Father’s Day is about dads, but I just can’t get over how blessed God has made me.  I don’t deserve it.

9.  The fourth of July we got to spend back in South Dakota with all the grandparents.  The dads kids were pretty much in the water constantly except when they were playing with explosives.

IMG_4475

IMG_4483

IMG_4493

IMG_4496

IMG_4498

IMG_4502

IMG_4550

IMG_4581

IMG_4585

10.  In between all of these bigger events, we have been busy with usual summer things:

Lots of Swimming

IMG_5296

Eating While Swimming

IMG_2516

The boys both have started swimming lessons too, but we can’t get pics of that because we have to be in the water with them.  They are already better swimmers than I am!

Picnics

IMG_2501

Camping

IMG_2613

Driving Heavy Equipment

IMG_5285_2

Parades

IMG_2636

11. And lastly, we’ve been running.  Lots of running around here, like every spare minute one of us is running.  Okay, I’ll be honest.  It’s more like a fast paced waddle for me.  But you know what, I’m working on that!  Grant and I are in full-force training for the Mankato Half-Marathon in October, which is one of my goals for the year (see this post).  Grant is the captain of our church team for World Vision that we will be running for, which helps bring clean water to children in Africa (a place clearly near and dear to our hearts).  I will be writing a blog post about this with more details soon!

So there you have it!  In a nutshell, this has been our last couple of months.  Wow, just writing all of that makes me tired!  Sorry for the long post, but hopefully you feel a little more up to date on our lives now.  I’ll try not to make it so long in between posts from now on!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

