Boys Bedroom Reveal

It feels good to be back on the blog.  I know I haven’t been writing much recently, for several reasons.  But I’m back, and can’t wait to keep everyone updated as we continue to finish up this adoption process.

We have been working on getting the boys into the same room for about a year now, so that we would have a free room for our third child.  We have slowly been updating the room but since our recent referral, we thought we better finish things up.  So let’s get looking, shall we?

Here is how the room looked after Eli was born.  This is after he was big enough for a toddler bed, but otherwise it was basically the same as when he was born.

IMG_1881

IMG_1882

So we basically tore the room down to the bare bones and redid it.  We sanded down the walls, tore out the carpet and scraped the popcorn off the ceiling.  And a side note – that popcorn ceiling is nasty stuff.  Seriously the messiest job I’ve ever done to date.  Not sure if I’ll ever do that again – might be something that I slap down some cash and have a professional do it.  But I love the end result!

IMG_4160

We took all the trim out and painted it.

IMG_4161

Grant developed some mad carpentry skills and made built-ins for the closet.

IMG_4671

IMG_4672

I took some hold hardware I had lying around and transformed them:

IMG_4687

I painted them white and them scuffed them up.

IMG_4691

Then I added attached some jute to add some rustic flair.

IMG_4694

We made a bunch of other stuff, but I got lazy and didn’t take pictures of the process.  Let’s just get to the reveal anyway!

And here’s our big boy room!

IMG_5323

IMG_5332

The desk and shelves we built with wood and industrial piping.  The little hanging buckets were a garage sale find.  The tractor seat chairs were a clearance find from Target.

IMG_5334

Up on the shelves, I turned some plain wood magazine holders from Ikea into some boy-inspired storage using paint, stain and a homemade deer stencil.

IMG_5338

Past the desk and shelves, is the reading nook.  I made the bean bag chair – my biggest sewing project yet!

IMG_5330

Above that are our gutter shelves that we made to hold the kids’ favorite books.

IMG_5328

Going around the room, I sewed up these curtains quick and then we made the curtain rod out of piping to add to the industrial feel.

IMG_5326

Back around the other way, is the awesome shelving unit that Grant built from the ground up.  Amazing!

IMG_5325

Speaking of Grant’s awesome builder skills, he just whipped up this holder for the boys’ bows and arrows in about 5 minutes out of scraps we had lying around.

IMG_5346

A few other small additions to add to the boy look tops off the room:

IMG_5342

IMG_5339

This really turned into a fun room that the boys actually enjoy hanging out in.  I will catch them drawing at their desks or reading in their bean bag chair and it makes all the hard work worth it!

IMG_5323

I still have to post about the guest bathroom update we did last summer/fall, and will hopefully get to that soon!  But we are now well into updating our little girls room to get ready for her arrival, and I can’t WAIT to share that with you once it’s done!  I love how it’s turning out so far!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boys Bedroom Reveal

  1. LuAnn says:

    You guys did an awesome job on the boys’ room. It made it fun, cozy, and a one-of-a-kind!

  2. Megan Mensing says:

    Love this! Great job!

Leave a Reply

