Day 4 and 5!

OK folks, we’re going to do this a little differently. Jen and I are going to have a conversation. You get to read our ramblings to one another. OK here goes!
Grant: Hey Jen, how do you think past couple of days have gone?

Jen: I think the last couple days have been pretty well- they’ve been days where we just kind of settled in and enjoyed time with our daughter. Yesterday after her morning nap we all went to the Rietvlei Zoo Farm which is more of a petting zoo but interestingly they had a car wash at this place as well as zip line hiking and biking trails, a coffee shop and also driver’s ed.  Yes driver’s ed.

G: Yeah that was a strange place. My favorite part of the day, apart from getting nosed by a pig,was watching the horse eating garbage out of the garbage can. Did we ever figure out why those horses were left to wander all by themselves?

J: Nope but we did learn to watch our step. After we left the petting zoo we headed home just to have a relaxing afternoon.

G: Jen, I thought we were supposed to be having a conversation not just telling everyone what we did yesterday!

J: Yeah but I don’t know how to do that on here and it stresses me out!

G: OK then let me take it from here. Hey Jen, wasn’t it nice to give our daughter a bath and snuggle with her afterwards?

J: Yeah, it was pretty nice!  She falls asleep so well and loves to snuggle…hey Grant, why don’t you talk about our adventure today!

G: What would you like me to talk about?

J: I’d like you to tell everyone how much fun you had getting us to the zoo today!

G: Boy I would like telling people how much fun it was getting there but that would be a horrible horrible lie. I’m sure you are referencing the multiple men that tried to coerce us into either getting into our vehicle or giving them our keys in order to park close to the zoo. Wasn’t it nice, though to finally find an official zoo parking area?

J: Oh yeah, it was so nice to finally see someone with a zoo name badge.  We kind of felt like we didn’t even need to go into the zoo after the whole parking fiasco!

G: Yeah but I’m glad we did. It was a nice zoo with a lot of cool animals to see.

 

OK guys, we had hoped that would work out better than it actually did. I hope you got some laughs, anyway.  We got in a couple of walks around our neighborhood today and that was nice to get out. We plan on going to church with our host family Sunday evening and have some more things planned for the week ahead!

Our little girl is getting more used to us and is starting to test the waters so to speak…  This is actually a good thing!  God has given us a special gift through this process.  We get to see a little more of how our adoption through Christ works through all of the highs and lows and everything in between that we are experiencing! I (Grant) was reminded this evening as I sang amazing grace to her at bedtime how the grace I was showing to her (cradling her in my arms after a big fit at supper) was nothing compared to the grace God has shown us!  I have such an example to follow and look up to but mostly to trust and lean into as we continue this process!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

