Day 6: Seeing God Clearly at Work – Again!

I have to start this post by confessing that things aren’t all fun and adventurous over here.  When people found out we were going to Africa, they usually made comments indicating how much fun we would have and how many fun things we could explore.  But honestly, we haven’t felt that way since arriving.  We have felt concerned about safety, we have overcome jet lag but are now finding ourselves staying in often because we don’t want to drive through this huge city.  People stand all over the sides/middle of the roads trying to stop us, and you never know who to believe.  It gets dark really early because it’s winter here.  Nothing is familiar. We don’t know anyone.  And I miss my boys horribly while taking care of a child we barely know.  And this started wearing on me.  Last night I felt it mounting and really started feeling homesick and overwhelmed by the amount of time we have left in Africa before we can come home.  I started to lose hope and feel anxious.  

Then God, in all His grace and compassion, gave me a new day today.  We are staying in a guest house that we found on Airbnb.  This morning our hosts, Christine and Angus, invited us up to their house for lunch.  When we got there, they were basically having a dinner party for many of their family members and church friends.  We enjoyed a delicious 4-course meal and then chatted with everyone for a couple of hours.  After that we were invited to church with them that evening, which of course we accepted!  We knew these people loved Jesus and were so thankful God brought them into our paths.  We went back to our place, got our girl fed (that girl can EAT!!), and headed off to church.  We met a sweet young couple who had volunteered at our daughter’s orphanage and has known her since she was a baby!  They recognized her and came over to connect with us!  They were so happy she has finally gotten a family!  We sat with our host family and enjoyed the worship music so much!  God’s timing is perfect, and He gave me what I needed at this time to refocus my eyes on Him:

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders

Let me walk upon the waters

Wherever You would call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander

And my faith will be made stronger

In the presence of my Savior


I will call upon Your Name

Keep my eyes above the waves

My soul will rest in Your embrace

I am Yours and You are mine

God absolutely poured out His love for me today and gave me comfort when I needed it most.  He renewed my hope in the plan He has for us right now, and the strength to complete it.  I can again clearly see the beauty of this adoption process in light of what Jesus has done for me.  And I’m ready to make this thing official in 3 DAYS!!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 6: Seeing God Clearly at Work – Again!

  1. Z Gens says:

    I’m glad that God blessed you again with more strength and peace. He truly is good. He is keeping everyone safe in His arms both here and with you. Keeping you in my prayers as well. The time will go fast even if you don’t think so at times. God speed.

Leave a Reply

