What About the Boys?

I know we have been documenting about our adventures in South Africa, but some of you might remember that we have two handsome little boys at home waiting for us.  We have been away from them for 22 days now and, honestly, my heart aches for them.  I have never spent more than one night away from them prior to this, so this is near killing me.  I can’t wait to smoosh their little faces into mine and squeeze their little bodies like a boa.

You may be wondering how it’s going for them and what they are doing.  They are staying with Grant’s parents, and they have been busy!  From the looks of it, they are having so much fun I do question if they even miss us!  That’s a good thing though.  Grandma Lu Ann is doing a tremendous job keeping their minds and bodies occupied – just take a look:

They started off right away with the summer reading program at the library.

Then Vacation Bible School started at one of the local churches, so they got to join in.

They also are playing T-ball!  Grandma and Grandpa actually take them on the road to out of town games too!

And after T-ball, they do the only thing that makes sense – get ice cream!

Lots of ice cream.

And we are just getting started.  These kids are getting a great summer experience!  I mean, they’ve been to the circus…

They’ve been fishing…

They’ve been to a parade…

They get movie nights…

Yup, now get why I question whether they miss us or not?  I mean, these kids have got.it.good.  Oh we are not even done!

They get an ant farm…

They play with water…..lots of water!

They play with sand…

They ride bikes…

They are learning…

And creating…

I mean, these kids have got it so good that they get pancakes spelled in their names!

I wanna stay at Grandma’s house…*tears of jealousy because everyone wants to wake up to pancakes spelling their name – especially those with 3-syllable names!*

Now that my love of pancakes is very obvious to everyone, we should move on!  They boys got to spend a couple of days with my brother and his family on the farm.  They had a blast riding on the four wheeler…

Swimming…

Petting baby chicks with Grandpa Terry…

And just “hanging out”…

Believe it it or not, they have even had a little down time here and there!

 

Thankfully due to technology, we get to hear about all their adventures by FaceTime every day.

No, we don’t have 4 boys…the other two are more cousins that are visiting this week.  The boys love having some more playmates!

The boys have a jar of Hershey kisses that we left with them and they get two every day, so that they get a “kiss” from mom and dad every day.

We are also making chains, which you can see Eli starting above.  We have strips with us in SA and they have some.  Every day we are writing down our favorite part of our day and we can watch our chains grow and then talk about them when we get home.

I am so glad these boys are making so many great memories.  I know Grandma probably passes out every night after the boys go to sleep.  But Grandma Lu Ann and Grandpa Norm are loving on these boys and pouring into their lives which I know will be invaluable to the boys down the road.  We are so thankful for their selfless hearts and willingness to take this challenge on!  You guys are Super-Grandparents!  THANK YOU THANK YOU for taking such good care of our little men!

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What About the Boys?

  1. Melissa Geisthardt says:

    Tell the boys we miss them too:( But looks like they are having a blast!!

Leave a Reply

