Days 27 and 28!

The last couple days have actually been pretty busy!  And we took lots of pictures so get ready!

On Saturday we went to the Slow Market again in Stellenbosch but this time had some friends join us!  We got a couple things and ate some really yummy food, which included cupcakes for my birthday! (This is Grant.)

None of us wanted to go back to our places and just sit around, so we all decided afterwards to head to a local winery to walk around.  Since it was my birthday, I agreed to such an idea, as long as I got to do a tasting. 🙂

Vergelegen is a very cool wine estate that was founded in 1700! They had an outstanding view of the nearby mountains (the Hottentots Holland mountains).  Although the view is beautiful, the term is somewhat derogatory as it refers to the clicks and sounds of the language of the people native to Southwestern Africa, the Khoikhoi.  They even had a playground there!

Some of the trees that were planted when the estate was founded are still there, so we checked those out!

The wine was really good! I’m generally not a white wine fan, but the white I tried was excellent!

We wore the kids out, that’s for sure.

After all of the touristy stuff, we headed home and I made some birthday steak!  We found ribeye at the local Spar (a grocery store), 3 steaks for only $6.00!!  And they were delicious!

We got some brownies at the market earlier that day for dessert, one is peanut butter honeycomb, and the other includes Oreos and white chocolate!

On Sunday, we went to another market with our “local” friends,  eating more good local food and enjoying our time together! Afterwards, we headed home for naps (which were not very successful…) then met up again for coffee at another winery.  This winery is called Lourensford and is right next to the other one.  Apparently you can go fly fishing here-might have to go back soon and try that out!

Palesa and Julia.  Julia is so awesome- she just connects so well with our family.  She has been like a big sister to Palesa since we have been in Cape Town and we love being around her- such a great kid and full of spunk!

On site they have a place called The Coffee Roasting Company.  It’s pretty awesome- a no frills type of place, but a good selection of freshly roasted beans and seriously one of the best cups of coffee I’ve ever had.  I had the Ethiopian yirgacheffe (which I hoped they had!) Americano and oh my was it good.

I think the South African slang is… “A cuppa.”

We walked around a little after coffee, and then headed off to church, where we talked with one of the social workers about our progress on the passport.  It was a great conversation and looks like we will be heading home soon!  We will definitely keep everyone updated on when, when we know for sure!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days 27 and 28!

  1. Val says:

    Looks so beautiful there! Glad you had a nice birthday, Grant!

  2. thecarpntrs says:

    Nice to see pictures of sweet Julia. Our Andrew still brings up her name 🙂

Leave a Reply

