Winter Family Updates!

Hey there, Stranger!

I must confess that I have been terrible about blogging since we got home from Africa in July.  And you probably can tell that from the meager ONE post I’ve done since then.  Life happens, and then it’s been months and then I suddenly remember I have a blog that I should update!  So I took the night tonight and dedicated it to the blog – I updated pretty much every aspect of this site.  I mean seriously, the “About” page was when Eli was 3.  He turns 6 in four days.  Yeah, it was about time I got my act together!

So here’s what’s been happening in our house in the midst of chaos:

Eli started Kindergarten!

IMG_4646

The kid loves it!  Even though he’s been to the nurse’s office more times than I want to know (the kid is accident-prone, sorry for the bad genes, kid), he’s managing to learn a ton!  He does simple math and can read books at the third-grade level.

IMG_4657

IMG_4687

IMG_4675

 

Andrew in his second year of preschool.  He loves it as well, but is ready to go to “all day school” with Eli.

IMG_4649

IMG_4682

IMG_4653

They both love school so much.  Palesa even loves it and doesn’t know what it is!  If you look real close, there are tears on her cheeks because she wants to go to school but can’t yet.

Eli got chosen to be the crown bearer at our High School Coronation.  Be still my heart, he looks like he’s getting married!!  **tears**

IMG_7605

 

We ran again with Team World Vision and thanks to many of you, helped to raise thousands of dollars that go toward the clean water crisis in Africa.

IMG_4808

This is obviously an after shot.  You can just see the stink.

Over the Thanksgiving season, we got to have Grant’s family come down to visit.  There were lots of kiddos at our house!

IMG_2832

That same weekend we were able to dedicate Palesa at church.  It also happened to be Orphan Sunday, so that was very special to us.

IMG_2794

IMG_2805

Excuse Andrew, he was hungry.  Ha!

Now, it’s the middle of winter, and even though it’s raining in January, in Minnesota, as I type this, there is plenty of snow outside to play in!

15776393_10100921094791616_606841696_o

 

Grant has started his last semester of Grad school and is slated to graduate this Spring!  We are so excited for this, however he plans to return to school in the fall for his licensure certification.  This will allow him to seek positions for principal/assistant principal.

I am back to work after a wonderful 6-month leave during the time we adopted Palesa.  I have been back a few weeks but am working on a casual basis.  I can be home when Eli gets home from school, and it give Palesa a few hours a week to socialize with friends her age at daycare.  She loves it and actually cries when I come to get her!  Ha!

I have also set out on a new adventure.  My paint and power tool addiction has gotten a little out of hand, and I needed an outlet for it, so after a lot of contemplating, we just decided to go for it – I started my own small business making home decor!

umberfacebookprofile (1)

It’s been a lot of fun, especially all the custom orders!  I love working with people to make exactly what they want to make their house more beautiful, and it’s been great so far!  I have my own shop on Etsy, so be sure to check it out here and let me know if I can do any work for you!

We hope your 2017 is off to a great start!  I will try and blog a little more often, but no guarantees!

 

About truthsofablessedlife

Welcome to my blog! I am first and foremost a loved daughter of the Most High. I am a blessed wife to an awesome man who loves the Jesus above all else. I am also a Momma of 3 wild kiddos, who give each day a blessing in a whole new way. And when I have time I also work as a Nurse Practitioner on a casual basis. Our family has a special passion for family time, adoption, food, and thrifty DIY/home improvement projects and would love to share some of it with you! In fact, I love creating so much I have started my own little Etsy business!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

